Dear Letter, Welcome back! Thanks Me

About two or three years ago, I started noticing a trend developing. The intimate letter form was making a comeback on social networking sites and mostly written by females.  I believe this to be an emotional outlet that many males won’t use.

Example letter post:

Dear So-and-So,

I have some complaints (or praise).

Thank (screw ) you!

Sincerely yours,

Somebody

I started a tally to find a rough ratio, mostly female posts.  Since there are too many variables in the scope of what I read from friends and acquaintances, I gave up collecting data.  I would have to commit to research in a more controlled setting to produce any credible statistics.  But that doesn’t mean I can’t blog about it.

There’s a crapload of arguments for and against the relationship for gender and language.  I tend to understand both sides of the fence, but in this case I’m just making simple and human observations.

My debatable opinions about this phenomenon:

  • Females tend to preserve language more than males, in this case—written language
  • Females preserve a more intimate/emotional relationship with the traditional letter
  • Males who publicly use the traditional letter form as a social media post have more emotional public connection than other males
  • Males that do choose to display publicly their concerns do so with different emotional devices, e.g. declarations such as “What the f***!’, ’so-and-so sucks’, or ‘such-and-such is awesome!”

I know this is a very broad and possibly insulting generalization, but I think it’s an interesting observation nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

